I’m vulnerable. I’m strong. I’m scared. I’m courageous. I’m human.

I am a bit of a perfectionist by nature and with that comes many hours of preparation, organization, and strategic delivery.  This perfectionism has allowed me to feel safe and secure within my surroundings.  If you were wondering if my closet is color coordinated, DVDs and books are categorized, and grad school lecture notes are labeled, color coordinated, and in chronological order of exam you would guess right.  I have learned that my “perfect” safety net was set in to place to protect myself from two things: 1) the fear of failing others and 2) the fear of embarrassment.  This perfectionism, extreme organization, and preparedness has served me well and has allowed me to be successful in many realms of my life, but one…being vulnerable.

Being vulnerable is scary, exciting, freeing, intimidating, incredibly humbling, and something I am continuously working on.  Baron Baptiste in his 40 Days to Personal Revolution says,

“You’ve got to be willing to show up and suck before you can show up and shine.”

How many opportunities have been missed because you were nervous, not prepared enough, scared, or too intimidated to let your guard down?  I know I have missed out on a few myself.  What happens when we start being courageous, exposing our vulnerabilities, and actively participating in our own lives?  Your life happens.  Yes, we may royally suck but I promise you will learn a lot about who you are as an individual and each time gets a wee bit less intimidating and a lot more exciting.  What is astonishing to see is that when you become vulnerable you create a space for others to do the same.  Vulnerable is the raw, non-GMO, pure, naked, and true you!

I probably will always have my perfectionism at heart (i.e. I enjoy my color coordinated closet), but as I start to open up and allow myself to be humbled by my limitations the more I start to live with integrity, authenticity, and true happiness.

I guess what I am saying is…show up in your life, embrace the suck, and keep moving forward because when the day comes and you shine…you will shine bright!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m vulnerable. I’m strong. I’m scared. I’m courageous. I’m human.

  1. Love this. In a time of my own stepping out on the ledge and sucking. My choice of course, I guess it’s ok to challenge yourself to suck. It’s a great learning experience and a nice break from the mundane routine of just showing up to do the same thing again and again. I bet I will shine brightly in about a year in my new adventure.

  2. GREAT! Being vulnerable is so empowering if you can push through that feeling of not being good enough, if you can just be present as you say. I love this – being present is something I strive towards everyday.
    http://www.seeingintome.com

Leave a comment